Skip to content

Heading to the crossroads

March 31, 2011

I am set to make my annual trek down to Jackson for the Crossroads Film Festival again this year but this time with a little different badge than normal. Unlike being a media rep or judge or even as a festival programmer, this time I am wearing my filmmaker hat down to the fest. It will take a little more work trying to promote the film and getting to know filmmakers, but I am just as excited if not a bit nervous.

While I am still tweaking my schedule (thanks to Fest Genius), I am looking forward to seeing Mississippi Innocence by Oxford’s own Joe York and a weed doc by Billy Corben. The night ends with music at Hal & Mal’s, a Crossroads tradition.

Saturday morning begins early with workshops at 9 a.m. I will be waking my butt up with some coffee to hit my pal Coop Cooper’s screenwriting workshop.

Oxford Film Fest animation winner plays at 11 a.m. with what looks like a great animation lineup but I will likely be hitting the Will Lowery workshop on the business of the business at the same time.

At 2 p.m. is a special cast and crew screening of the Dynamiter which I am going to beg, borrow or steal to get my way into as I would love to see the film that just played in Berlin Festivale.

The rest of the evening is a little annoying because all of it looks interesting and I can only see so much, so I may jump around seeing different shorts before settling in for a doc feature. The end of the night will likely end in chaos – but in a fun way – as it often does at Crossroads.  It’s often the night where we all bond way too much.

Sunday is the awards at 10 a.m. and then Where I Begin plays at 5:10 p.m. I will be there to answer questions and observe festivities. We are screening with two films: “In Between,” and Mark Mamalakis experimental film “Portrait of a Filmmaker.”

The fest ends with a screening of Oxford Film Fest winner Pruitt-Igoe Myth and the Crossroads narrative feature winner.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

