Skip to content

Corey Haim, my first horror film crush, Gone

March 10, 2010

Today TMZ reports that Corey Haim, 38, died of accidental overdose.

I think I was 7 or 8 years old when I first saw Corey Haim on the screen in “Silver Bullet.” He was my first movie star crush and the start of one of my first Stephen King adaptations. Both Haim and Stephen King were forever cemented into what I defined as pop culture for the rest of my life due to that film.

I followed his career through the 80s from the highs of “Lucas” and “The Lost Boys,” and yes, even “Dream a Little Dream” (even there I loved Haim more than Corey Feldman) to the lows “Fast Getaway 1 and II” and then often wondered what had become of him despite his continuing to perform in smaller productions through the 90s before the awful reunion of the Corey’s a few years ago.

I know he had gone through serious rehab stints and the innocent child star that I loved seemed to have faded into a much darker man as he reemerged into the limelight over the past few years. Another child star ruined, and for what?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

