Skip to content

My favorite movies of 2009

December 18, 2009
by

By Chad Larson

Yeah, I know, we still have 18 days left in the year, but with a number of Christmas parties and family coming and going, I’ll be too busy to write something that no more than 6 people are going to read anyway!

2009 saw a lot of big movies. Some of them were good, some of them not so much. I’m here to tell you about the ones I liked and why I liked them.

District 9
District 9: Beyond the impressive visual effects, District 9 took a trite sci-fi concept (aliens arrive on Earth and regular people have to react to them) and took it in a whole new direction when it turned out the aliens weren’t superior to us after all. Sharlto Copley made a name for himself with this movie and we’ll be seeing more of him in the future, including the remake of the A-Team.


Star Trek: J.J. Abrams did what no one thought possible: he made Star Trek cool. Long held as something interesting only to nerds, the revamped Trek franchise presents fresh faces on established characters, a sexy design aesthetic that couldn’t come from Steve Jobs himself, and managed to wrap it all up in a storyline that doesn’t completely ignore the past 30+ years of established Star Trek continuity.


The Hangover: Finally, the rest of America got a chance to meet the Zach Galifinakis that I’ve known and loved since Out Cold. The Hangover is a movie that doesn’t rely entirely on stupid quotables, and was by far the funniest movie I’ve seen in a long time.


Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen: I know, I know… my initial review of it was less than favorable. I can’t help but look back on it fondly though, because at my core I am a Transformers nerd 25 years running, and the worst Transformers movie is like the worst pizza or the worst sex… it’s still giant robots, cool cars, Megan Fox, and stuff blowing up left and right.


(500) Days of Summer: The first chick flick I’ve seen that I wasn’t embarassed to say I really enjoyed. Joseph Gordon-Levitt carries his role well, believably portraying the starry-eyed man in fresh love, and the depressed and bitter result of a breakup. Zoey Deschanelle is adorable and any movie that gives her the chance to get up and sing is even better.


Watchmen: Probably the most faithful adoption of a comic book to the screen that will ever be, almost to a fault. Zach Snyder adapted what is widely held to be the quintessential comic book nearly panel-for-panel on the screen, but the film’s biggest problem was most of comicdom’s biggest worry – would America “get it?” For the most part they didn’t, but I did.

There you have it – my favorites for this year. I’ll go ahead and pre-emptively add Iron Man 2 to my 2010 Favorites post provided Favreau, Downey, Jackson, Johanssen and company can keep up the good work.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 6:31 pm

    Great post Chad!

    The hangover got my vote out of these six. Too funny!

    Jason

Leave a Reply

