Skip to content

25th Indie Spirit Award Nominees

December 2, 2009
Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced nominations yesterday for the 25th Film Independent Spirit Awards.
Selected from 240 submissions, this year’s winners will be unveiled at a late-night celebration on Friday, March 5, 2010, at LA Live’s panoramic event deck in downtown Los Angeles. The 25th Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony will air live and uncut on Friday, March 5, 2010 at 8:00 p.m. PST/11:00 p.m. EST on IFC (Independent Film Channel).

(500) Days Of Summer – Producers: Mason Novick, Jessica Tuchinsky, Mark Waters, Steven J. Wolfe
Amreeka – Producers: Paul Barkin, Christina Piovesan
Precious – Producers: Lee Daniels, Gary Magness, Sarah Siegel-Magness
Sin Nombre – Producer: Amy Kaufman
The Last Station – Producers: Bonnie Arnold, Chris Curling, Jens Meuer

Ethan Coen, Joel Coen – A Serious Man
Lee Daniels – Precious
Cary Joji Fukunaga – Sin Nombre
James Gray – Two Lovers
Michael Hoffman – The Last Station

Alessandro Camon, Oren Moverman – The Messenger
Michael Hoffman – The Last Station
Lee Toland Krieger – The Vicious Kind
Greg Mottola – Adventureland
Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber – (500) Days Of Summer

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
A Single Man – Director: Tom Ford
Producers: Tom Ford, Andrew Miano, Robert Salerno, Chris Weitz

Crazy Heart – Director: Scott Cooper
Producers: T Bone Burnett, Judy Cairo, Rob Carliner, Scott Cooper, Robert Duvall

Easier With Practice – Director: Kyle Patrick Alvarez
Producer: Cookie Carosella

Paranormal Activity – Director: Oren Peli
Producer: Jason Blum, Oren Peli

The Messenger – Director: Oren Moverman
Producers: Mark Gordon, Lawrence Inglee, Zach Miller

Sophie Barthes – Cold Souls
Scott Cooper – Crazy Heart
Cherien Dabis – Amreeka
Geoffrey Fletcher – Precious
Tom Ford, David Scearce – A Single Man

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not listed
Big Fan – Writer/Director: Robert Siegel
Producers: Elan Bogarin, Jean Kouremetis

Humpday – Writer/Director/Producer: Lynn Shelton

The New Year Parade – Writer/Director: Tom Quinn
Producers: Steve Beal, Tom Quinn

Treeless Mountain – Writer/Director: So Yong Kim
Producers: Bradley Rust Gray, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim, Lars Knudsen, Jay Van Hoy

Zero Bridge – Writer/Director: Tariq Tapa
Producers: Josée Lajoie, Hilal Ahmed Langoo, Tariq Tapa

Maria Bello – Downloading Nancy
Nisreen Faour – Amreeka
Helen Mirren – The Last Station
Gwyneth Paltrow – Two Lovers
Gabourey Sidibe – Precious

Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
Colin Firth – A Single Man
Joseph Gordon-Levitt – (500) Days Of Summer
Souléymane Sy Savané – Goodbye Solo
Adam Scott – The Vicious Kind

Dina Korzun – Cold Souls
Mo’Nique – Precious
Samantha Morton – The Messenger
Natalie Press – Fifty Dead Men Walking
Mia Wasikowska – That Evening Sun

Jemaine Clement – Gentlemen Broncos
Woody Harrelson – The Messenger
Christian McKay – Me and Orson Welles
Raymond McKinnon – That Evening Sun
Christopher Plummer – The Last Station

Roger Deakins – A Serious Man
Adriano Goldman – Sin Nombre
Anne Misawa – Treeless Mountain
Andrij Parekh – Cold Souls
Peter Zeitlinger – Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director)
Anvil! The Story of Anvil – Director: Sacha Gervasi
Food, Inc. – Director: Robert Kenner
More Than A Game – Director: Kristopher Belman
October Country – Directors: Donal Mosher, Michael Palmieri
Which Way Home – Director: Rebecca Cammisa

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the director)
A Prophet (France) – Director: Jacques Audiard
An Education (UK/France)- Director: Lone Scherfig
Everlasting Moments (Sweden) – Director: Jan Troell
Mother (South Korea) -Director: Bong Joon-Ho
The Maid (Chile) – Director: Sebastián Silva

ACURA SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 16th annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.
Kyle Patrick Alvarez – Easier With Practice
Asiel Norton – Redland
Tariq Tapa – Zero Bridge

TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 15th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
Natalia Almada – El General
Jessica Oreck – Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo
Bill Ross, Turner Ross – 45365

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 13th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
Karin Chien – The Exploding Girl, Santa Mesa
Larry Fessenden – I Sell the Dead, The House of the Devil
Dia Sokol – Beeswax, Nights & Weekends

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
A Serious Man

Directors: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen
Casting Directors: Ellen Chenoweth, Rachel Tenner
Ensemble Cast: Richard Kind, Sari Lennick, Jessica McManus, Fred Melamed, Michael Stuhlbarg, Aaron Wolff


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: