Skip to content

Updates, Crossroads and more

April 2, 2009

xrlogo09

Sorry I have not been posting much this week and I still have to play catch up on a last few SXSW reviews, but I have been lucky enough to be asked to be one of the judges at Crossroads Film Festival this year. I have spent much of my time since I returned from Austin watching movies for the documentary categories.

The fest, now in its 10th year, kicks off tonight with a few films. I will be heading down tomorrow to finally catch Medicine for Melancholy and Goodbye Solo, two films that I have missed on the fest circuit so far but have been dying to see.

The fest this year has a few changes, notably the awards ceremony is moving from Saturday night to a Sunday awards brunch. This will be a nice way to enjoy hearing who wins while eating some breakfast. The other big change was the hiring of Chris Spears as a paid festival coordinator which so far has proven to be a good move as updates this year have been more frequent and I am quite sure this year will be a good year for the fest. I’ll report back to you all somewhat infrequently over the weekend on the happenings down in Jackson. For now, I look forward to catching a few films and seeing some film friends from around the state.

If you are in the area and haven’t yet checked out the schedule, go to http://crossroads.bside.com/2009/schedule and see what’s playing this weekend. Hope to see you there!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

