Skip to content

Late Night SXSW Options

February 19, 2009

sxsw_film_2009_150px

While Fantastic Fest has some great offerings playing at Alamo South Lamar this year, SXSW will continue its Alamo Ritz midnight showings with a few offerings worthy of note. I honestly don’t know how I am going to choose between the offerings at the two theaters. Maybe flipping a coin will do the trick?

82675431TT003_A_Film_With_M

A Film With Me In It
Director: Ian Fitzgibbon
They’re having a bad day…it’s about to get a lot worse!

Cast: Mark Doherty, Dylan Moran (U.S. Premiere)

Truly the funniest moments in Run, Fatboy, Run (played SXSW 2008) were due to Dylan Moran. Not to mention his hilarity in Shaun of the Dead, Tristam Shandy, Notting Hill and so many more. That truly is enough for me to go see this, but the Twitch review from its TIFF screening puts it over the top as one of my must sees. They called it one of the darkest comedies in a long time. I am so ready for some crazy Irish wit.

The Ceremony
Director/Writer: James Palmer
After finding a bizarre book, a young man is plagued by unexplainable occurrences inside his home. Cast: Scott Seegmiller (World Premiere)

This is director James Palmer first major film and to be honest after reading the synopsis and watching the trailer, I don’t know I feel about it. I like the concept, just hasn’t yet grabbed me. Psychological thriller is so hard to pull off but I am hoping its great. Check the trailer here and tell me what you think.

Grace
Director/Writer: Paul Solet
After losing her unborn child, Madeline Matheson insists on carrying the baby to term. Following the delivery, the child miraculously returns to life, but when the baby develops a desperate appetite for human blood, Madeline is faced with a mother’s ultimate decision. Cast: Jordan Ladd, Samantha Ferris, Gabrielle Rose, Malcom Stewart

Scott Weinberg on Fearnet called the film scary, smart and pushes a few boundaries. And there is no one I trust more with horror recommendations then that guy, so it goes on my must see list, as it should yours. Sure, we have seen horror about pregnancy before, Rosemary’s Baby, but this takes to the next level by bringing in a blood thirsty baby. Hmm, maybe that is why I was anemic the whole time I was pregnant….

Lake Mungo
Director/Writer: Joel Anderson
A supernatural drama about grief. Cast: Talia Zucker, Rosie Traynor, David Pledger (North American Premiere)

It’s from Australia and is a mockumentary style “supernatural” drama. Variety did not like it so much and called it a Blair Witch redux. I…liked the trailer and the Aussie accents, so it is still high on my list to see.

Trailers from Hell.com with Joe Dante – LIVE PRESENTATION
Joe Dante presents The Best of Trailers from Hell which showcases classic-era Previews of Coming Attractions – punctuated with humorous, passionate and insightful commentaries by contemporary filmmakers like John Landis, Eli Roth and Edgar Wright – with particular emphasis on the lurid, the extreme and the outrageous.

I am torn…but can be easily convinced to go see this. I just can’t make up my mind until I know what Fantastic Fest film is playing over at Alamo South Lamar.

Zift
Director: Javor Gardev. Writer: Vladislav Todorov
A man freed after a wrongful murder conviction enters a diabolical city full of decaying neighborhoods, gloomy streets and bizarre characters. Cast: Zachary Baharov, Tanya Ilieva, Vladmir Penev, Mihail Mutafov

First Bulgarian film to screen at TIFF, the movie is a black and white nod to American film noir. Foreign? Black and white? Playing at the Ritz? Film Noir? Everything I love in one. Oh, please don’t disapoint!

Leave a Reply

