Skip to content

Sundance 2009 Winners

January 24, 2009

headshot-lsLynn Shelton, director of Sundance winner Humpday.

Indiewire live blogged the Sundance Awards tonight. For complete coverage, read their article.

Winners are below:

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Push: Based on a novel by Sapphire,” Lee Daniels.—to be announced—

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
We Live In Public,” directed by Ondi Timoner

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
The Maid,” directed by Sebastian Silva

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
Rough Aunties,” directed by Kim Longinotto

Audience Award, Dramatic:
Push: Based on the novel by Sapphire,” directed by Lee Daniels.

Audience Award, Documentary:
The Cove,” directed by Louise Psihoyos

World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic:
An Education,” directed by Lone Scherfig-

World Cinema Audience Award, Documentary:
Afghan Star,” directed by Havana Marking

U.S. Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Mo’Nique, for acting in “Push: Based in a novel by Sapphire”

U.S. Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Humpday,” directed by Lynn Shelton, “for its independent spirit.”

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Prize, Documentary:
Good Hair,” directed by Jeff Stilson

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Catalina Saavedra for her performance in “The Maid”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Louise-Michel,” directed by Benoit Delepine and Gustave de Kervern, for its “originality”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Documentary:
Tibet in Song,” directed by Ngawang Choephel

Excellence in Directing, U.S. Dramatic:
Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Sin Nombre”

Excellence in Directing, U.S. Documentary:
Natalia Almada, “El General”

Excellence in Directing, World Dramatic:
Oliver Hirschbiegel, “Five Minutes of Heaven”

Excellence in Directing, World Documentary:
Havana Marking, “Afghan Star”

Excellence in Cinematography, U.S. Dramatic:
Adriano Goldman, “Sin Nombre”

Excellence in Cinematography, U.S. Documentary:
Bob Richman, “The September Issue”

Excellence in Cinematography, World Dramatic:
John De Borman, “An Education”

Excellence in Cinematography, World Documentary:
John Maringouin, “Big River Man”

Excellence in Editing, U.S. Documentary:
Karen Schmeer, “Sergio”

Excellence in Editing, World Documentary:
Janus Billeskov, “Big River Man”

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award:
Nicholas Jasenovec and Charlyne Yi for “Paper Heart”

World Cinema Screenwriting Award:
Guy Hibbert, “Five Minutes of Heaven”

The Alfred P. Sloan Prize For a Feature Film:
Adam,” directed by Max Mayer.

Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards
Diego Lerman, “Ciencias Morales” (Moral Sciences)
David Riker, “The Girl”
Qurata Kenji, “Speed Girl”
Lucile Hadzihalilovic, “Evolution”

Jury Prize in International Short Filmmaking:
Lies,” directed by Jonas Odell.

Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking:
Short Term 12,” directed by Destin Daniel Cretton.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: