Skip to content

December 14th Release – Alvin and the Chipmunks

December 14, 2008

What was Jason Lee thinking?

The movie falls flat and focuses way too much on the rise of the Chipmunks. It’s like Wayne’s World version of Alvin and the Chipmunks. Sometimes something just shouldn’t be remade. This is one of them.

Yet, my 10 year old loved it and rewatches it, laughing hysterically at all the parts that I rolled my eyes. Was I just being too harsh on this film? Or have I just been burnt out by watching too many films with the same generic laugh track skits?

But no, as one of the fans of the original Alvin and Chipmunks (I even had the stuffed animal versions, thank you!), I expected much more for my beloved series.

What surprises me is how much I loved Jon Vitti’s (the writer) movie, The Simpsons Movie. But I am not a big fan of Tim Hill, the director, who has directed Muppets to Space and Garfield: The Tale of Two Kitties, more children’s films that entertain only children. Yet, like with children’s literature, I strongly believe that what is entertaining children, should entertain adults, like Shrek, or countless other great kid flicks.

This one just didn’t do it for me, but if your kid is looking for a good rental, it is not a bad way to introduce them to one of your old favorite cartoons.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

