Skip to content

Ebert’s response to my response.

December 3, 2008

While I enjoyed the article, seeing it online and getting the experience to interact and read other’s thoughts was the best part. And there is one part of the problem.

I write for a daily newspaper in Oxford, MS and letters to the editor are scarce. Yet, readers spend much time talking to me on the street, in a restaurant, in the grocery store, or anywhere they find me, about their opinions. So much so, that after continued complaints that we just run AP film criticism, I began my own film column. I had already been writing for a little less than a year occasional film articles, but hadn’t taken it on full-time as my editor always said, oh it is fine, we can just run wire.

Yet, from everything I hear, people don’t want the wire. They want it to be localized. I ask people to write letters to the editor to let him know what they want. Most say they don’t have time. Yet, many of these same people have no problem responding on my own film blog or writing comments to people’s statuses on facebook. So, what has happened to remove the reader from the print writers? Why is it so much more approachable to get involved on-line than to send an email to an editor that then gets printed?

On a positive note, maybe it is because I live in a fairly literary and educated town, but there are readers out there that not only want but demand good criticism. There are still people that want to follow a local person’s opinion over anyone who is writing that week for AP (Although myself I do always enjoy Lemire’s writing even if they are now going to shrink it to under 500 words). My A&E editor for our weekly entertainment mag hardly ever cuts down my articles (1 time but to be fair in layout it would have taken half the magazine). He trusts my judgment and knows that the readers are taking the time to read from left to right. After reading everyone’s comments, I guess I didn’t realize just how lucky I am to be at a newspaper that still appreciates print over the internet, and always focuses on local impact and measures us by stories that affect the community. We have yet to run anything about Britney Spears, Paris Hilton, or Baby Suri.

Maybe we are a dying breed, but there are still papers and readers out there. As long as we have that, we will continue to have champions of true criticism like Roger Ebert.

Ebert: You have never printed anything about Britney Spears, Paris Hilton, or Baby Suri? Isn’t that a Pulitzer category?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

