Skip to content

To my friends who ask why live in Mississippi…here’s why

September 30, 2008

I know this may not be film, but for a moment I want to reflect on what happened in my little town on Friday. In case you are completely oblivious to American politics, although this race makes it hard to ignore, then let me fill you in. On Friday we held the first in three presidential debates before November’s election. I am a graduate student at Ole Miss and while I am not from Mississippi, my mother and grandmother are..so I have always felt rooted to this state. Although by southerners I am an outside west-coaster, I know better as my family has ties to Mississippi and the South all the way back to the James and McGregors that first came here, so I get it, this tie to a place that is complex and painful to love. I am one of many that feels conflicted over my personal belief system and the history of the place I reside. In fact, I get asked all the time why I live in Mississippi (I am a Southern California native), and I often find it hard to explain unless you have ever spent any time in charming little Oxford. But, I think the outside world may have caught a glimpse of what we have here and Schieffer definitely sums it up best:

Bob Schieffer’s Commentary on Returning to Ole Miss – Watch CBS Videos Online

Enjoy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lou haney permalink
    October 4, 2008 2:13 pm

    I am glad you live here!!!! Mississippi is such a complicated place… beautiful and ugly all together. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

