Skip to content

Tupelo Film Fest Review – Imagine Me A Hero

May 15, 2008

Hero

Imagine Me A Hero Cast:

Ben- Jon Paul Whitlock
Jeremy- Wes Pumphrey
Girl 1 and 2- April Wren
Pedestrian- Kindra Wood
Pickpocket- Landon Woods

West Point filmmaker Michael Williams takes a subject dear to my heart, Heroes, and examines how the pop culture phenomenon affects a guy who just broke up with his girlfriend. Williams is a student filmmaker and the camera work was decidedly low-budget, but he has a great sense of storytelling and I found myself laughing out loud at numerous points. Some of it had to do with the fact that I’ve nerdily (not a word, I know) done the same thing after watching too many episodes of Heroes.

Williams came up with the movie and shot it in less than a month. In October he had begun watching Heroes and became addicted (as we all do!). “After watching the first episode, I was addicted, and I became obsessed with every aspect of the show. [It] gave me this childlike desire to have super powers. While I understood it was impossible for me to have powers, I was able to take my own obsession and come up with the idea for this film,” said Williams.

In the short film, Ben decides, after watching Heroes, that he is special and tries to tell his roommate about it. His roommate serves as a catalyst for us to understand that Ben is recently single and probably not in the right frame of mind, meaning: he doesn’t really have powers. However, Ben makes a list of every possible power and begins testing himself to find out which one he has. This is where the movie gets pretty amusing. After much frustration, he wanders out to what appears to be a cafe or park and meets someone else with the same problem. The cool thing is the way Williams shows what Ben expects to happen and then what really happens for each test.

Imagine Me A Hero is playing at 4:15 today as part of the Tupelo Film Festival. Michael Williams, Jon Paul Whitlock, and April Wren will be attending.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 6:02 am

    Thanks !!! I loved it !!! šŸ™‚

  2. May 18, 2008 8:34 pm

    Hey Daniel! Yah it is a fun idea. You can actually watch it at http://www.shendopen.com

  3. May 18, 2008 7:42 pm

    Ugh ! Sounds GREAT. Wish I could have been there
    to see it… I’m sure I will catch it sooner or later !!!

Leave a Reply

