Skip to content

4-1-08 Rentals

March 31, 2008

Alvin and the Chipmunks will be available starting tomorrow. I have to wonder what Jason Lee was thinking but other than that, I will probably rent it with my son. If he could fall in love with those crazy chipmunks like I did when I was a kid, that would be awesome. I guess the main problem I have with the film is it starts from scratch, most likely in an effort to build a series of films to milk money from a new generation. The three chipmunks are living in a tree farm and then move to L.A. where they meet Dave (Lee). They are such great singers that they end up with a record deal. Well, yah duh. Anyone who is the audience for this knows it. Oh wait. The new audience probably never saw the old cartoons. Grr. I think the newest Scooby Doo films did the right thing in restarting 70’s iconic cartoon storylines by being in an advanced time but flashing back to the beginning. But, for my son, I am renting it. (Ok, honestly it is more for me..but, ya know).

Did anyone else ever like Theodore the best? He is so adorable.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

is a sweet gory little musical. I am excited. I don’t know how I haven’t seen this already. Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter appear to do what they do best: be weird. Here is a clip:

The Good Night played at Sundance in 2007 and I had been hoping to see it ever since I first heard about it. It is a great concept from Jake Paltrow starring the delightfully comical Martin Freeman (from the british The Office), Gwyneth Paltrow, Penelope Cruz and Simon Pegg. A man with a stalled career and relationship turns to his dreams where everything works out better. New age guru (Danny DeVito) helps him to continually spiral further into his dream world, blocking out the real world problems.

Check out this cool new feature at the Scene blog from Sheena Barnett where she reviews rentals she loved or thought was a waste of your money!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

